Слике страница



The Counties Composing Their Respective Fruit Districts

First District.-S. BURNET, Vice President. Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson Greene, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Orange, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburg and Warrick.

Second District.-A. TRUEBLOOD, Vice President. Bartholomew, Brown, Clarke, Dearborn, Decatur, Floyd, Franklin, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley, Scott, Switzerland and Washington.

Third District.J. W. RAGAN, Vice President. Boone, Clay, Clinton, Fountain, Hendricks, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Vigo and Warren.

Fourth District.E. Y. TEAS, Vice President. Blackford, Delaware, Fayette, Grant, Hancock, Hamilton, Henry, Howard, Jay, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Randolph, Rush, Shelby, Tipton, Union and Wayne.

Fifth District.-L. B. Custer, Vice President. Benton, Cass, Carroll, Fulton, Jasper, Lake, Laporte, Marshall, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, Starke, St. Josephs and White.

Sixth District.-I. D. G. NELSON, Vice President, Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Elkhart, Huntington, Kosciusko, Lagrange, Miami, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells and Whitley.




The undersigned, officers of the Indiana Horticultural Society, for the purpose of a more thorough and perfect organization, have, this the twenty-second day of December, 1875, agreed upon the following Articles of Association (and the subjoined seal), under which to incorporate the Society, pursuant to the provisions of an act of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, approved March 10, 1875:

ARTICLE I. This organization shall be known as the Indiana Horticultural Society.

ARTICLE II. The objects of the Society are to develop facts and promulgate information pertaining to the science of horticulture.

ARTICLE III. Its officers shall consist of a President, four Vice-Presidents, Secretary, Treasurer, and Executive Committee of three.

ARTICLE IV. Its members shall consist of annual members paying a fee of one dollar per annum into the treasury of the Society, and honorary members who shall be elected by the Society for merit as horticulturists of distinction, who may, at pleasure, participate in the deliberations of the Society. Members' wives will be members without fee.

ARTICLE V. Each member shall be entitled to a copy of the transactions of the Society so often as the same shall be published.

ARTICLE VI. The Treasurer shall not disburse money except on the order of the Secretary, countersigned by the President.

ARTICLE VII. The Executive Committee shall require of the Treasurer such security as may be deemed sufficient for the safe keeping of the funds of the Society.

Article VIII. The seal of the Society shall consist of an outer rim embracing the inscription, “Indiana Horticultural Society;" within this, and above the central figure, consisting of a vase of Aowers, a pear and apple resting upon a section of vine with its fruit, the word “Organized 1860;" below, “Incorporated 1875."




Vice-Presidents. W. H. RAGAN,



Executive Committee.





This Society shall be known as “INDIANA HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY."

2. Its officers shall consist of a President, six Vice Presidents (who shall be elected, one from each Fruit District, and by virtue of their election, members without fee for the time for which they are chosen), Secretary, Treasurer, and Executive Committee of three.

3: The President shall preside at and conduct all meetings of the Society, and in his absence the Vice Presidents, in their order, shall perform the same duties.

4. The Secretary shall record all the doings of the Society, collate and prepare all communications, etc., for the public press, and pay over all money received from members, or otherwise, to the Treasurer, on his receipt; shall receive and answer all communications addressed to the Society; establish and maintain corre. spondence with all local, county, district and State Horticultural Societies, and secure by exchange their transactions, as far as possible, to aid the President, as an executive officer, in the dispatch of business relating to the meetings of the Society, preparing and publishing circulars and notices of horticultural and similar meetings of general interest, and report to the annual meeting of the Society an abstract of the matter that has come into his possession, which, with its approval, shall become part of the transactions for the current year.

5. The Treasurer shall collect and hold all funds of the Society, and pay out the same only on the order of the Secretary, countersigned by the President.

6. The officers shall be elected separately and annually, by a ballot vote, and hold their office until their successors are elected.

7. The objects of the Society being to collect, condense and collate information relative to all varieties of fruits, and dispense, the same among the people, every member, except Vice-Presidents, shall pay into the treasury one dollar a year for the purpose of publishing and other expenses. Any person interested in horticul. ture may become a member by forwarding to the Treasurer or Secretary the fee of membership

8. Every member shall be entitled to a copy of the Transactions of the Society as often as the same shall be published.

9. The President, Secretary and Executive Committee may call a meeting of the Society at any time and place they may consider advisable, by a notice of Thirty days in the public press.


It shall be the duty of each Vice President to make an annual report to the Society upon the fruit crop in his respective district, together with such recommendations and suggestions as may seem best for the interests and advancements of horticultural knowledge within said district, which shall be, by the Secretary, published in the Transactions of the Society for the year in which such reports are made.


This Society shall hold its annual sessions on the third Tuesday in December in each year, and at such place as the Society shall designate at its previous meeting. It shall be the duty of the Executive Committee to procure rooms and make all necessary arrangements for the meetings of the Society, to make out a programme of business for each meeting, and attend to such other duties as the Society may from time to time direct.


The officers of this Society shall constitute a Board of Horticulture, five of whom shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business, the officers of the Society to be officers of the Board, said Board to meet immediately on the adjourn. ment of the Society, and afterwards on their own adjournment. It shall be the duty of the Board of Horticulture to collect horticultural information, and they shall be authorized to employ an agent or agents to visit different portions of our State or adjoining States to collect horticultural information of general interest, and shall be authorized to draw on the Treasurer for money to pay the expense of said agent or agents, when there is money in the Treasury not otherwise needed, and said Board shall make full and accurate reports of their proceedings, with all horticultural information collected, to the regular meeting of the Society.

13. By-laws and alterations in the constitution, for the purpose of governing further wants of the Society, may be enacted by a majority of the members present at any regular session.

« ПретходнаНастави »