« ПретходнаНастави »
a tendency to make him admire ecclesiastical decoration, which in his later years he studied with the holy purpose of promoting the glory of God, and encouraging feelings of reverence in Christian worshippers.
The graves of Mr. KEBLE's father and mother, and of two of his sisters, are in the churchyard at Fairford, near the path on the south side of the church. In the chancel there is a mural tablet, erected by Mr. KEBLE himself, with the following inscription :
"Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord."
THESE WORDS ARE HERE DEDICATED IN
WHOSE BODIES LIE BURIED, SOME IN THIS CHANCEL,
SOME IN THE ADJOINING CHURCHYARD,
OF THE REV. JOHN KEBLE, M.A.,
SOMETIME FELLOW OF C.C.C., OXFORD,
WHO DIED JAN. xxiv., MDCCCXXXV., AGED LXXXIX. YEARS ;
AGED LXVIII. AND LV. YEARS ;
AND OF SARAH His Wife,
WHO DIED MAY XI., MDCCCXXIII., AGED LXIV. YEARS,
AGED EIGHTEEN AND TWENTY-SEVEN YEARS.
There is also on the floor of the chancel, within the altar-rails on the south side, a lozenge-shaped tablet with the inscription, M. KEBLE, 1744; and another with the inscription A. KEBLE, 1754.
There are the following entries in the Burial Register at Fairford :
“Buried 1804, July 27, Keble, Anne, Spinster.”
Buried 1809, March 25, Mary Keble." “Buried 1754, Anne Keble, Feb. 4."
The population of Fairford at the last census was 1,654. The scenery around the village is varied and beautiful. The Cotswold hills, and the river Coln, adding much to the pleasant aspect of the country. Such scenery was well fitted to suggest to the Poet many of his beautiful thoughts.
THE POET'S BIRTH-PLACE AT FAIRFORD.
* Light are their steps, who in life's earliest dawn
(The Baptistery, p. 16.)
HE house at Fairford, in which Mr. KEBLE was born, was left to him by his father, and has been bequeathed by him to the Rev. THOMAS KEBLE, junior, M.A., the only son of his only
brother, who also owns, by the bequest of his Aunt, Mrs. KEBLE, (to whom it was left by her husband,) the copyright of “The Christian Year,” and of the other works of his Uncle. The house is a plain stone
building near the road, with a stone wall in front of it, and it forms part of a leasehold property which has been in possession of the family for nearly one hundred years. It is now in the occupation of James Cornwall, Esq.
Near the house are many large elms, which afforded much matter for poetical thought to the great author, such as he expressed in the hymn for the Twenty-third Sunday after Trinity, in the words :