Stranger Shores: Literary Essays, 1986-1999

Предња корица
Viking, 2001 - 295 страница
"The only author ever to win the Booker Prize twice, J. M. Coetzee is one of the world's greatest novelists. Now his many admirers can have the pleasure of reading his significant body of literary criticism. This volume gathers together for the first time in book form twenty-six pieces on books and writing. Stranger Shores opens with "What Is a Classic?" in which Coetzee explores the answer to his own question - "What does it mean in living terms to say that the classic is what survives?" - by way of T. S. Eliot, Johann Sebastian Bach and Zbigniew Herbert. His subjects range from the great eighteenth- and nineteenth-century writers Daniel Defoe, Samuel Richardson, and Ivan Turgenev to the great German modernists Rilke, Kafka, and Musil to the giants of late-twentieth-century literature, among them Harry Mulisch, Joseph Brodsky, Jorge Luis Borges, Salman Rushdie, Amos Oz, Naguib Mahfouz, Nadine Gordimer, and Doris Lessing."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Из књиге

Шта други кажу - Напишите рецензију

STRANGER SHORES: Literary Essays 1986-1999

Коментар посетиоца странице  - Kirkus

A striking collection of 26 literary essays, many taken from The New York Review of Books, that amply display Coetzee's freethinking erudition and go-your-own-way intellectual honesty.In prose that is ... Прочитајте целу рецензију

Stranger shores: literary essays, 1986-1999

Коментар посетиоца странице  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Coetzee (Waiting for the Barbarians) is one of South Africa's major novelists. In this collection of 26 essays, many of them first published in the New York Review of Books, he gives careful, fair ... Прочитајте целу рецензију


four MARCELLUS EMANTS A Posthumous
Ауторска права

други делови (15) нису приказани

Друга издања - Прикажи све

Чести термини и фразе

О аутору (2001)

J.M. Coetzee's full name is John Michael Coetzee. Born in Cape Town, South Africa, in 1940, Coetzee is a writer and critic who uses the political situation in his homeland as a backdrop for many of his novels. Coetzee published his first work of fiction, Dusklands, in 1974. Another book, Boyhood, loosely chronicles an unhappy time in Coetzee's childhood when his family moved from Cape Town to the more remote and unenlightened city of Worcester. Other Coetzee novels are In the Heart of the Country and Waiting for the Barbarians. Coetzee's critical works include White Writing and Giving Offense: Essays on Censorship. Coetzee is a two-time recipient of the Booker Prize and in 2003, he won the Nobel Literature Award.

Библиографски подаци