Слике страница
PDF
[graphic][ocr errors][merged small]
[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors]
[merged small][graphic][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]

mense labor and cost a good deal of money. It was well spent.

The great center of popular interest In Golden Gate Park is the umbrageous spot where stands the Temple of Music, a magnificent gift of the late Claus Spreckels, the sugar king. The design is in the Italian Renaissance. It has a frontage of fifty-five feet and a height of seventy feet, flanked by Corinthian columns. Extending from the Corinthian columns on each side are colonnades, fifty-two feet six inches by fifteen feet wide, each supported by sixteen Ionic columns. The temple is a thing of beauty in its pure simplicity.

In front of this Temple of Music thousands of people sit on Sundays and holidays to listen to the band and special solo artists. The scene is Grecian in its golden sunshine and has no counterpart anywhere in America.

In the vicinity of the Temple of Music is the splendid Memorial Museum erected by M. H. deYoung of the San Francisco Chronicle. This museum promises to be the nucleus of one of the most famous in the world and is already a source of delight and wonder to thousands When completed and fully arranged by the public spirited citizen, who has presented it to the people of San Francisco it will be a monument of which any benefactor should feel proud.

Not far from the Temple of Music is another fine but smaller museum in which can be found many a most admirable zoological exhibit arranged by the Academy of Sciences.

The Stadium at which horse races and other athletic events take place is one of the features of Golden Gate Park that excites much admiration and reflects great credit on its designers, Park Commissioner A. B. Spreckels and Park Superintendent John McLaren.

The Stadium presents features which command the attention of park managers In many cities of the world.

Its area is thirty acres and it is oval in form. It is encircled by a trotting track, sixty feet wide. Sloping toward the center of the field is a grassy terrace ten feet high and thirty feet wide. At the base of the terrace slope is a foot path, twelve

feet wide. Inside of the footpath is a bicycle track twenty-five feet wide. Near the easterly end and inside the bicycle track is a quarter of a mile cinder track. Paralleling the straight-away of the bicycle path, is a 220-yard straight-away cinder track. Inside of the oval formed by the quarter of a mile cinder track there are spaces for hammer throwing, pole vaulting, jumping, etc. Space is also given for. one basket-ball court and six football fields.

The buffalo paddock is one of the sights of Golden Gate Park. Buffalo Bill remarked that the herd of buffalo was one of the best he ever saw. Early in 1890 the Park Commissioners purchased five buffalo in Montana. Three of the animals, surviving the journey by rail to San Francisco, were placed in the Park. The herd now numbers thirty-five and could be doubled or even increased to 100 if a larger number were desirable. It is noted that the animals born in Golden date Park attain normal size and are not deficient in vigor or health.

The Elk Park is another delight for sight-seers in Golden Gate Park. California is the natural home of the elk. Alvinza Hayward gave the Commissioners one pair of elk, and the band is now large. Parks in Los Angeles, Fresno and other cities have been supplied from the collection in Golden Gate Park. Several deaths resulting from fights have occurred in the drove. The elk born in Golden Gate Park attain great size.

The Deer Paddock attracts multitudes of people. In 1888 Alex Duncan, of Duncan's Mills, Sonoma county, gave the first black-tailed deer to Golden Gate Park. Later on, Korbel Brothers and L. L. Robinson donated deer. The deer paddock now contains twenty-five bucks, does and fawns. Spotted deer from Hawaii, donated by Mr. Bishop, were subsequently brought to the Park, and they thrive as well as the native California deer.

Kangaroo from Australia mingle with the deer, twelve in number and thrive in n most satisfactory manner.

In 1909 four moose from Alaska were given to the Park by Henry Fortmann of San Francisco. They were caught young and brought to San Francisco at the ex

[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]
« ПретходнаНастави »