Слике страница
[ocr errors]



The following shows the classification of the Judges of the Court of Ap peals and the Justices of the Supreme Court under the new Constitution, as drawn June 22, 1847, pursuant to law :


[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors]
[merged small][merged small][ocr errors]

The first Court of Appeals under the new Constitution, will therefore consist of Judges Bronson, Ruggles, Gardiner and Jewett, and Justices Jones, Wright, Charles Gray and Johnson. These last, by the constitutional system of rotation, will give place, after one year's service, to Justi ces Strong, Cady, Shankland and Hoyt-and so on-each Supreme Court Justice serving one year on the bench of the Court of Appeals.




The Senate consists of thirty-two members, elected by the people for a term of two years. The Assembly consists of one hundred and twenty-eight members, elected by the people annually.

The Senate and Assembly each elect their own officers, except the Lieutenant Governor, who acts as President of the Senate.-See new Constitution, Art. III, Sec. 2.


The Court for the Trial of Impeachments, is composed of the President of the Senate, the Senators, and the Judges of the Court of Appeals.

The Court of Appeals, consists of eight Judges, of whom four are elected by the people, for eight years, and four are selected from the Justices of the Supreme Court.

Supreme Court.-The State is divided into eight judicial districts, of which the city of New-York is one. In each district there are four Justices of the Supreme Court, elected by the people, for eight years, so classified that one of the Justices of each district shall go out of office at the end of every two years.-See new Constitution, Art. VI, Secs. 1, 2 and 3.


The Governor and Lieutenant Governor, are elected by the people for a term of two years. See new Constitution, Art. IV.

The Secretary of State, Comptroller, Treasurer, and Attorney General, are elected by the people for a term of two years.

The State Engineer and Surveyor, is elected by the people for a term of two years. Three Canal Commissioners are first elected by the people for one, two, and three years; after elections to be for three years

Three Inspectors of State Prisons are elected in like manner as above.-See new Constitution, Art. V, Secs. 1, 2, 3, and 4.


Hon. ADDISON GARDINER, Lieutenant Governor, and President of the Senate.


The names arranged according to the priority of election.

First Senate District--David R. Floyd Jones, George Folsom, Edward Sanford, John Townsend.

Second Senate District-Joshua B. Smith, Robert Denniston, Saxton Smith, Harvey R. Morris.

Third Senate District-Stephen C. Johnson, John P. Beekman, Wm. H. Van Schoonhoven, Ira Harris.

Fourth Senate District-Orville Clark, Augustus C. Hand, Samuel Young. Thomas Cook.

Fifth Senate District-Thomas Barlow, Enoch B. Talcott, Joshua A. Spencer, Nelson J. Beach.

Sixth Senate District-Clark Burnham, George D. Beers, Thomas J. Wheeler, Samuel H. P. Hall.

Seventh Senate District-Albert Lester, Henry J. Sedgwick, Richard H. Williams, Abraham Gridley.

Eighth Senate District-Frederic F. Backus, Carlos Emmons, Gideon Hard, Francis H. Ruggles.

Isaac R. Elwood, Clerk of the Senate; salary, $1.200.

Charles Bryan, Sergeant-at-arms; $3 for each day's attendance.

Elected in November, 1846.

Albany-Valentine Treadwell, Robert D. Watson, John I. Gallup, Joha


Allegany-Grover Leavens, Samuel Russell.
Broome-Oliver C. Crocker.

Cattaraugus Rufus Crowley, Joseph E. Weeden.
Cayuga-John T. Rathbun, Samuel Bell, William I. Cornwell.
Chautauque-Madison Burnell, Charles J. Orton.

Chemung-William Maxwell.

Chenango-Ransom Balcom, David McWhorter.
Clinton-Rufus Heaton.

Columbia-John S. Gould, William M. Miller.

Cortland-Timothy Green.

Delaware-Jonathan C. Allaben, Donald Shaw.

Dutchess-Epenetus Crosby, Ares I. Vanderbilt, Walter Sherman.
Erie-Horatio Shumway, Obadiah J. Green, William H. Pratt, John D.


Essex-William H. Butrick.

Franklin-Joseph R. Flanders.

Fulton and Hamilton-Darius Moore.
Genesee-Heman Blodgett, Alonzo S. Upham.

Greene-Almeron Marks, William V. B. Adams.

Herkimer-Abijah Beckwith, Jefferson Tillinghast.

Jefferson-John Boyden, John D. Davison, Samuel J. Davis.

Kings-Abraham D. Soper, John A. Emmons, Ebenezer W. Peck.
Lewis-Thomas Baker.

Livingston-William S. Fullerton, Andrew Sill.

Madison-Peter Van Valkenburgh, George T. Taylor.

Monroe-William C. Bloss, John B. Smith, John McGonegal.
Montgomery-Gamaliel Bowdish, Andrew S. Gray.

New-York-Wilson Small, Alexander Stewart, David J. Chatfield, Daniel E. Sickles, John H. Bowie, John E. Develin, Norman B. Smith, Henry Keyser, Charles Baxter, Michael Walsh, Lyman Candee, James C. Rutherford. Alexander M. Alling, Dennis Garrison, Edward R. Carpentier, Uzziah Wenman.

Niagara-Benjamin Carpenter, Christopher H. Skeele.

Oneida-John Dean, Abel E. Chandler, Isaac Curry, Nathan Burchard. Onondaga--Manoah Pratt, William Henderson, John Lakin, Joseph


Ontario-Emery B. Pottle, Ezra Pierce.

Orange-William C. Hasbrouck, Hudson McFarlan, Joseph Davis.
Orleans-Abner Hubbard.

Oswego-Orrin R. Earl, M. Lindley Lee.

Otsego Cyrus Brown, Francis U. Fenno, William Temple.
Putnam-Benjamin B. Benedict.

Queens-Wessell S. Smith.

Rensselaer-Amos K. Hadley, David S. McNamara, Joseph Gregory. Richmond-George H. Cole.

Rockland-John A. Haring.

St. Lawrence-Bishop Perkins, Henry Barber, Phineas Atwater.
Saratoga-Joseph Daniels, Thomas Č. Morgan.

Schenectady-David Caw.

Schoharie-Thomas Smith, Elisha Hammond.

Seneca-Ansel Bascom.

Steuben-William Hunter, Hiram Chapman, William Diven.

« ПретходнаНастави »