Слике страница

the young people' was published to aid in the selection of the best books for home reading, and the result has proved most gratifying, for the lists have been in great demand and constant use. No part of the library work is more important than in guiding the children to suitable reading matter."


Kansas State Hist. Soc., Topeka. (9th biennial rpt.) Details of the growth of the library during the past two years are given in the report. Additions are 5708 (3378 pm.); total 79,900 (48,617 pm.). The library now contains 10,689 bound v. of Kansas newspapers and magazines, a larger collection of local historical materials of this class than is contained in any other library in the world "; it is also becoming very full in works relating to the discovery, exploration, and settlement of the Western country. The report calls attention to the fact that up to the present time the appropriations for purchases have been wholly inadequate to supply deficiencies as contemplated by the law. They have been usually but $500 annually, a trifling and insignificant amount compared with the accessions by gift, and compared with what is being expended by other states for such pur-total not given. Issued 42,969 (fict. 35,342); New York. Harlem L. (Rpt.) Added 810;


membership (estimated) 479. Receipts $II,132.86; expenses $5978.02.

The action taken last autumn, making the rates of quarterly and semi-annual subscriptions larger proportionately than the annual rate, has resulted in a larger number of annual subscriptions and a more reliable income.

Lake George (N. Y.) F. L. The Lake George Free Library, recently established with aid from the state, has been duly chartered. It contains 450 volumes, and is open three days of the week, from 3 to 4 p.m.; books may be kept for one month.

During the year $500 was received from an alumnus for the purchase of mathematical and astronomical books, and $23 from the class of 1894 for the purchase of books on political economy and social science. The sum of $2500 has been pledged by the alumni for the immediate purchase of books, and over $6000 have been pledged to the endowment fund of the library. The intention is to raise at least $21,000, increasing the endowment fund to $40,000.

of Montana, 2500. Dillon: Dillon Public Library, 940. Great Falls: Valeria Public Library, 2517. Helena: Montana State (two depts.), 16,000; office state supt. pub. inst., 500; office state bureau of agriculture, labor, and industry, 350; Public Library, 15,600; Sacred Heart, 830; St. Vincent's Academy, 550; Wesleyan University, 600; Grand Lodge, Masonic, Soo; Montana club, 1000; I. O. O. F. and fire dept.,_300. Missoula : Free Public Library, 1330. Twin Bridges: Normal training school, 350. White Sulphur Springs: W. C. T. U. L., 350. Total, 68,622 v.

Middletown, Ct. Wesleyan Univ. L. Added Norwich, Ct. Otis L. The publication of the 821; total 42,046. This does not include the library Bulletin is still continued, in spite of the medical library of the late Jarvis N. Husted, fear expressed early in the year that lack of M.D., consisting of about 1000 volumes and 500 funds might compel its discontinuance. The pamphlets; nor the library of the late Prof. G: age restriction has been removed from the use Prentice, D.D., consisting of 1569 bound vol- of the library, and "children of any age who are umes, 326 unbound volumes, and 612 miscellane-recommended by their parents or teachers or ous pamphlets and periodicals. The Prentice guardians can now have a card of their own." library, presented to the university by some of the alumni, is especially rich in books in German literature, and French and German theology.

Montana libraries. In a recent article in the Helena Independent, F. C. Patten, librarian of the Helena (Mont.) P. L., gives an interesting summary of the libraries of Montana, based upon replies received to over 70 letters of inquiry. The libraries of the chief cities of the state are as follows:

Anaconda: Hearst Library, 1842 v. Bozeman: Bozeman Librarv, 2877; Agricultural College, 1500. Butte Free Public Library, 17,396; Miners' Union, 500. Deer Lodge: College

In addition to this total of 68,622 v. in the 21 libraries of 10 cities, 23 towns have public school libraries ranging from 100 to 900 v. each.

Of public free libraries there are but seven — at Anaconda, Bozeman, Butte, Dillon, Great Falls, Helena, Missoula -five of which are supported by taxation; of college and academy libraries there are five; the remainder are subscription libraries, school collections, or small libraries belonging to clubs and organizations. Statistics of church and Sunday school libraries are not given.

Paterson (N. J.) P. L. (10th rpt.) Added 1766; total 22,531. Issued, home use 124,057 (fict. 80.5%); teachers' use 1514; lib. use 1768. No record of books used in the reference-room

is kept. New cards issued 1595; total registra-
Receipts $20,028.47; expenses

tion 17,472.

Mr. Winchester recommends that "a collec

tion be made of the best photographs of the most famous works of art in painting and sculpture to be found in the great European galleries. The making of such a collection is entirely practicable, would not involve a very large outlay, and would be sure to become at once a very popular and a most valuable and useful acquisition."

The president of the board of trustees says: "When the Danforth Library building was opened to the public, less than five years ago, it seemed so commodious that we believed the accommodation would be sufficient for many future years; but the steady yearly growth has been such that the trustees are now beginning anxiously to consider how the building might possibly be enlarged, and how the necessary funds might be procured for the work. In every

department the library is now crowded, and the utmost limit of growth and convenient use will soon be reached. The weight of the books was found to require additional support for security, and this was only recently effected at considerable expense."

The Passaic County Medical Society has transferred to the library its collection of professional books and journals, which includes many valuable medical works and sets of professional periodicals, transactions, etc. A special catalog of the collection has been prepared and may be consulted by request. The books may be drawn by any physician, medical student, or adult person interested in medical subjects, and special physicians' cards are issued, on which two or more books may be drawn at a time. Additions to the collection will be made annually by the library board and the Medical Society.

Philadelphia (Pa.) F. Ls. Arrangements have been completed for the establishment of two new branches of the free library system. One of these, to be established at Seventh and Lombard streets, is really an extension of the College settlement branch opened in October, 1894. This branch has grown so largely that the accommodations afforded by the College settlement house are insufficient, and the library is to be removed to new and adequate quarters. The other new branch will be established at the Evening Home Association, on Aspen street, above Chestnut. The free library will supply 2000 volumes and engage two assistants out of the appropriation of Councils. Both branches will be open to the public by October 1.

Port Jervis (N. Y.) F. L. (Rpt.) Added 751; total 6124. Issued 13,578, showing an increase of 3200 over previous year.

Rochester, N. Y. Reynolds L. On August 1, the library was closed for two months, pending removal to its new quarters. The rooms occupied in the old building as reference department are to be used for an independent public reading-room, devoted to popular periodicals, encyclopædias, and duplicate books of reference. The scientific and special journals will be kept in the new building. It is also intended to establish a downtown office for the return and delivery of books. The library will probably be opened in its new home on October 1, when the reading-room will also be opened.

Rome, N. Y. Jervis L. The Jervis Library was informally opened for inspection July 1213, and on the afternoon of July 15 the formal dedicatory exercises were held, when the audience assembled on the lawn and the addresses were made from the broad piazza of the building.

The library is established in accordance with the will of John B. Jervis, who died Jan. 12, 1885, leaving three-tenths of his estate for the founding of a public library, the bequest to take | effect upon his wife's death. Mrs. Jervis died on May 14, 1894, and steps were at once taken towards carrying out the provisions of the will. Mr. Jervis left minute directions for the erection of a library building, but his heirs finally decided


turn the family residence over to the board for library purposes, in lieu of $20,000 of the legacy. The offer was accepted, and on January 10, the Jervis Library Association was organized. On January 22, the estate was distributed, the share of the library association being $147,219.46, and the work of altering the building, buying and classifying books, was at once begun. Mr. Jervis left his own private library of 2449 v. to the city; the library of B. J. Beach, of 3000 v., was loaned to the association for five years; the school library of about 1000 v. was transferred to the same body, and about 2000 new books were bought, giving the library a total of about 8000 v. The library will be open every week-day from 10-12 a.m., 2.30-6, and 7.30-9 p.m. Free access to the shelves is granted.

Salisbury, Ct. Scoville L. The Scoville Library was formally opened on July 11, before an audience of about 400 people. It is the successor of several libraries established from time to time in the town, extending back to 1771, and originating in the Smith Library, founded by a Loyalist before the Revolution. The present library association was organized in 1892, in order to receive and use the bequest of Jonathan Scoville, who left the sum of $12,000 for a town library. Mr. Scoville was a native of Salisbury, who removed with his brother, Nathaniel Church Scoville, to Buffalo before the war, and made there a large fortune in the iron business. He was Congressman from that district several times, and succeeded Grover Cleveland in the mayoralty of Buffalo. His bequest was largely added to by the widow and children of N. C. Scoville, so that it was possible to erect a beautiful and spacious building.

The building was designed by Stone, Carpenter & Willson, of Providence. It is of Norman architecture, built of gray limestone quarried in the vicinity. It contains a reading-room, an auditorium, and a tower which contains the bookroom below and a clock and chimes above. The clock was made by the E. Howard Company, has four dials, and strikes the quarters and hours. The chime is an adaptation from a refrain in Wagner's "Parsifal." The number of books is about 3000, many of them recently purchased. The reading-room is supplied with the leading periodicals. The cost of the building and furnishing is about $25,000.

Southport, Ct. Pequot L. (Rpt.) Added 5275; total 6609. Issued, home use 11,112 (fict. 73%, including juv. fict.; juv., 26%.) New cards issued 314; total registration 627; reading

room attendance 16,721.

Springfield (Mass.) City L. A. (34th rpt.) Added 3601; total 90,544. Issued, home use 150,796 (fict. 79,924); hall use 30,007; visitors to reading-room 56,105 (Sunday attendance 4619). New cards issued 1720; total registration 18,356. Receipts $23,105.74; expenses $20,406.68.

"We have spoken from year to year of the relation between the library and the schools; we are gratified to say that this relation is be

coming more and more intimate, and the study of books for school purposes by teachers and pupils more thorough and systematic, and this study results not only in the improvement of the work of the schools, but also in giving the pupils familiarity with the use of books, and habits of independent investigation which will be likely to lead them to prosecute their studies after their school life ends. Moreover, the reading of such books as are recommended to the pupils for use in their school work constantly creates a taste for a better class of books for general reading than would otherwise be chosen, and thus a higher class of literature finds its way into the homes of the city. It is a noteworthy fact that the percentage of fiction given out in our library has been reduced by the pupils in our schools.

"The lower story of the library building is now in process of reconstruction. The old museum room is being fitted up with steel stacks for the reception of the popular department of the library, and will be made the delivery-room for the circulating department. The readingroom has been enlarged by connecting with it the janitor's room, and these rooms, together with the hall, are being supplied with steel ceilings. The whole of the walls and woodwork will be thoroughly renovated and painted. It is proposed to expend about $6500 in this work of reconstruction and improvement. These changes will provide room for the better arrangement of books in the upper hall, and will leave it free from the confusion incident to the coming and going of the multitudes that throng the library on busy days. These changes will furnish greatly increased facilities for the use of the reference department for purposes of special investigation and study, which is so important a function of the library. Opportunity will be given also to place a larger number of the more important reference books where they can be easily accessible to the people. It will be necessary to renumber and recatalog the books transferred to the lower room, and this will involve the necessity of closing the library, or at least some portion of the circulating department, for a time."

Washington, D. C., Congressional L. An investigation of the accounts of Ainsworth R. Spofford, librarian of the Congressional Library, was inaugurated some weeks since by the treasury authorities, and is still in progress. When the accounts of the library for the year and a half ending April 1, 1895, were received by the government auditor, they were found to be in considerable confusion, showing an apparent discrepancy between the fees for copyright received at the library and the sum covered into the treasury. The deficit is undoubtedly due to the complicated and unbusinesslike methods that overpressure of work and lack of proper clerical force have entailed upon the library of congress. The immense copyright business and the entire work of the library itself are performed by a force of 45 employes, hardly enough for a single one of these departments. It is probable that the present investigation into the condition of affairs will result in a general reorganization, the employment of an adequate force, and the appropriation of a more liberal income. Mr. Spofford intends to present a plan of relief in a recommendation to congress at its coming session. "This plan," he says, "is for the establishment of a separate bureau or division for the registering of copyrights. As it is now, the librarian has about four times as much work as one man can get through with. It is no small task to manage the largest library in the United States, to oversee all the work of cataloging and the receipt of new books, as well as to keep informed so as to supply congress, officials of the government, and the public with such information as the librarian is constantly being called upon to furnish. In addition to this there is the supervision of the matter of copyrights. This latter involves a great deal of labor and an immense amount of details. There is no inherent reason why this should be in the charge of the librarian, and I shall recommend to congress that a special officer be provided for this department of the work of the library. He should be a bonded officer, but he should not be detached from the library, for the reason that the library depends for its growth largely upon the books which are received for copyright."


The new art building is rapidly nearing completion and the museum, heretofore stored in the library building, has been removed to its new quarters.

Mr. Rice concludes his report with an interesting summary of the history and work of the library. He thus sums up the work accomplished since its organization in 1857: "We have sent out into the families of the city since the library was opened 2,490,812 volumes. Besides this outside circulation we have supplied during the years since the record of hall use has been kept, 137,300 persons with books for reading and Pending the adoption of by-laws to govern special study; and about 417,500 volumes have the corporation, the following temporary orbeen given out. Moreover, since the free read-ganization was made: chairman, General A. ing-room was opened in the fall of 1882 it has W. Greely; first vice-chairman, Judge A. B, been visited by more than 430,000 persons, and Hagner; second vice-chairman, S. M. Woodin addition to the papers read, of which no rec- ward; treasurer, W. A. DeCaindry; secretary, ord has been kept, 317,000 of the higher class of Oliver L. Fassig. periodicals the magazines, scientific journals and reviews have been given from the desk."

A little over $10,000 have thus far been subscribed towards the establishment of the free li

Washington (D. C.) F. L. The Washington City Free Library was incorporated July 5, under the laws of the District of Columbia. In accordance with the provisions of the articles of incorporation, nine trustees have been chosen for the first year. They are: Judge A. B. Hagner, Gardner G. Hubbard, Miss Josephine A. Clark, S. M. Woodward, General J. K. McCammon, General A. W. Greely, Dr. C. Hart Merriam, Dr. Robert Reyburn, and W. A. DeCaindry.

feet, and is to be built of cream white brick with trimmings of Indiana limestone. Quartered oak will be used in finishing the interior, the huge beams lending a cathedral-like effect.

Westford, Mass. The contract has been awarded for the J. V. Fletcher Library of Westford, and it is thought that the building will be completed within a year. The library is erected chiefly from a gift of $10,000 by Mr. J. V. Fletcher, of Belmont, Mass., a native of Westford, this sum being supplemented by $5000 and a site, given by the town. The building, as planned, will be two-storied, 54 feet front by 61 feet deep, including an ell 25 x 42, which will be devoted to the book-stack. It will be classic in style, of buff brick, with underpinnings of granite and trimmings of terra-cotta.

architecture, with high colonnade entrance and
The library is to be in the classic style of
pedimental front in stone. It faces west, and
the entire south end, having south, east and
This room will be 14 feet high, with a cen-
west windows, will form the reading-room.
tral dome, the top of which will be 22 feet
from the floor. The north end of the build-
ing will be the stack-room, the metal stack
system being used throughout and so arranged
will be a book capacity of 16,000 v.
that a mezzanine balcony can be added; there
The two
connecting openings being through a classic
rooms will be separated by the large hall, the

The entrance arch, 9 feet, will open upon a porch 4 x 10, and this in turn will give access, through folding-doors, to a vestibule 5 x9, wain

The annex will con

colonnade of Ionic columns. This hall will scoted in marble. Through a second set of fold-place of carved white stone. serve as delivery-room and will have a fireThe ceiling will ing-doors one will enter the delivery room II X23, be supported by an open roof of ornamenthe delivery desk occupying the end farthest from the entrance. At the right is to be a reading-room, 19 x 21, having a corner fireplace, and in the rear of this a reference-room 12 x 19. On the left of the delivery-room will be a conversation-room, 17 x 19, also having a fireplace, and in the rear of this a room for the librarian and a toilet-room.

The ell devoted to the book-stack will be 15 feet high, so that a second tier of bookcases may be put in at any time by constructing a grating floor.

The second floor will have an art gallery, 31 x 33, the ceiling panelled and the central portion coved, giving a height of 15 feet; a relicroom 16 x 19, and a committee-room 13 x 7.

The rooms on the first floor will be finished in quartered oak, the ceilings deeply panelled, the large floor timbers being utilized to produce a very attractive appearance. The second story finish will be of cypress.

brary. The intention is to secure temporary quarters at once and prepare for an opening of the library early in the coming fall.

[blocks in formation]

tal truss beams of oak.

tain toilet-rooms and a room for the librarian, as well as one for the trustees, the latter to be used for study by those so inclined.

The library of the town now contains about 4000 v., and is a subscription library, an annual fee of $2 being charged. It is hoped that when ished and the library conducted by the town on the new building is erected the fee can be abol

a free basis.

Norwood, Mass. A public library building is to be given to Norwood by Mr. and Mrs. G: H. Morrill, of that town, as a memorial to their daughter. A site has already been purchased by Mr. Morrill, and though plans have not yet been made public, it is said that the building will be a handsome granite structure.

Oshkosh, Wis. The will of the late Mrs. A. S. Harris, of Oshkosh, leaves to that city a bequest for a public library, hedged in, however, by what may prove an impracticable condition. After bequeathing a few legacies to friends and relatives, Mrs. Harris left the remainder of her estate, estimated at $50,000, to three personsCol. Gabriel Bouck, Orville Beach, and Mrs. M. A. Olcott to be held in trust for the purpose of founding and maintaining perpetually a public library; provided that within three years the city of Oshkosh, or any citizens, raise an equal amount for the same purpose. If such an amount is not provided within the period, the estate reverts to the heirs of Mrs. Harris and her husband.

St. Augustine, Fla. J: M. Wilson, of Framingham, Mass., offered, on June 22, to give to the St. Augustine F. P. L. Association a handsome and suitable library building. The building in question has long been a landmark of historic interest as the residence of the Spanish governors. It was purchased by Mr. Wilson some months since, and it is his intention "after making the necessary changes to adapt it to its future uses, to turn it over to the trustees for the benefit of the Free Public Library Associa tion,'



CHAMPLIN, G: G., a graduate of the N. Y. State Library School (class of '95) has accepted a position with the Library Bureau, 146 Franklin st., Boston.

CHURCHMAN, Miss Anna L., died at her home in Indianapolis on July 27, of typhoid fever. Miss Churchman was a member of the American Library Association although not connected with any library, and she attended the Lake Placid Conference. She had many friends among members of the association and in library circles, and was much interested in library matters.

CUTLER, Miss Louisa Salome, librarian of the Utica (N. Y.) Public Library, died at her residence in Utica, on Friday, August 2, after a

short illness.

NELSON, Miss Martha Furber, who for several years has been librarian of the Union Library at Trenton, N. J., has been appointed librarian of the State Normal, Training and Model Schools, at the same place. Miss Nelson will enter upon the duties of her new position in September. She will also be instructor in bibliography.

OBERHOLTZER, Mrs. Rosa Allen, has been elected librarian of the Sioux City (Ia.) Public Library, succeeding Miss Esther Crawford, who resigns to complete her course in the N. Y. State Library School. Mrs. Oberholtzer has been identified with the library life of Sioux City for many years. She was a member of the board of trustees of the public library from its first appointment, until Miss Crawford gave notice of her desire not to be considered a candidate for re-election, and since June she has been at Amherst attending Mr. Fletcher's summer school and preparing herself for her new duties. Her term of office begins Sept. 1.

MOORE, Miss Evva L., was elected librarian of the Withers Public Library, Bloomington, Ill., on July 6. Miss Moore, who is a graduate of the library class of Armour Institute, was engaged in 1894 to reorganize and catalog the Bloomington Library when it was transferred to the city by the local library association.

SARGENT, Miss Abby L., for the past four years librarian of the Middlesex Mechanics Association, has accepted a position as assistant in the Medford Public Library, which she is to reclassify on Cutter's expansive system.

The Lowell Courier says: "She will be greatly missed in Lowell. Patrons of the Mechanics Association library, especially those engaged in the investigation of some particular subject, have found her assistance always readily given and always of great value. She has shown also an especially wise discretion in the selection and management of the books for children and young people. The work of the library has been hampered the last few years by circumstances which are familiar to every one, but the members of the association have long recognized that the good work which the library has, in spite of its financial difficulties, been able to do, is the result almost entirely of Miss Sargent's helpfulness and efficiency as a librarian. Her resignation is a serious loss to the association."

Cataloging and Classification.

CARNEGIE F. L., Alleghany, Pa. Classified catalogue of the books, except fiction, French and German, in the library: class-list, authorindex, subject-index.

Title-a-line list; Dewey class and Cutter author numbers. In the class-list a medium title is given and in the author-index merely a 'catch' title; only the surname of the author is given in the class-list, except where two or more similar surnames occur together. As the catalog has been some six months in printing and will be out of date when completed most of the important additions to the library within that time have been inserted in the author-index whenever that was possible, although not entered in rules have been followed pretty closely in the the class-list. In use of capitals the A. L. A. class-list, but in the author-list capitals have been used somewhat arbitrarily, and no claim to consistency is made." Printed on manila paper. The catalog is too bulky for convenient or easy handling.

CLERKENWELL (Eng.) P. L. Class-guide to fiction and juvenile literature. 1895. 84 p. D. 3d.

Brought up to May, 1895. Contains title lists of adult and juvenile fiction, the latter including also general juvenile books, followed by a "topical index," which gives a rough clue to novels on special subjects, or those dealing with special countries. The birthplace and dates of birth and death are given in the case of the more important authors, and there are abundant brief annotations. Books in the adult list, but suitable for children, are starred; the same sign in the juvenile list indicates books adapted for girls; sequels and connected books are noted by


[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]
« ПретходнаНастави »