« ПретходнаНастави »
friends of the association being present. The exercises were conducted by Librarian E. S. Willcox. The erection of the building will be pushed as rapidly as possible.
Philadelphia. THE PHILADELPHIA LIBRARY (in Phila. Inquirer, Sept. 22), 4 col., il. An account of the organization, growth, and present condition of the Library Company of Philadelphia, describing some of the more valuable books in the collection; illustrated with four cuts of the various library buildings.
Philadelphia. T. Morris Perot, president of the Mercantile Library, on October I addressed to the city councils a letter in which he offered to make the Mercantile Library a free public library on condition that the city appropriate a sufficient annual amount to cover its mainte
nance. In his letter, after giving a short history of the library and describing the extent of the collection, Mr. Perot says: "It is proposed to give to the citizens of Philadelphia the full use of this valuable library, and it is offered to the city so as to make it a public institution, open and free to all, the city being asked only to appropriate annually such a sum as will maintain it. Further, if so desired, this institution will accept the care of the libraries established by councils in several parts of the city and continue them as branch libraries. This will make these libraries doubly or trebly valuable to the people of the neighborhoods in which they are situated, as the main library can at any time throw into any of these branches 10,000, 20,000, or 30,000 volumes. If necessary it can, by establishing express wagons between the main library and the branches, deliver books from one to the other several times daily, thus giving to these branches the advantage of 180,000 volumes, in addition to those owned by themselves."
The directors of the library do not, however, propose to turn its administration over to others. The ownership and control of the entire property is to continue, as heretofore, in their hands, with the addition of three ex-officio trustees from the city government. Owing to this fact and the impossibility of consolidating the library - as a central public library - under these conditions with the various smaller libraries now established, it is a question if the offer will be accepted.
Piermont (N. Y.) P. L. The,new library building was opened for inspection on the evening of September 16. The library is an outgrowth of the local Village Improvement Association and begins work with about 100 volumes, supplied by the Regents of the state university.
Richmond, Ind. Morrisson-Reeves L. The beautiful memorial window, given to the library in memory of Robert Morrisson, its founder, by his great-grandchildren Bertha and James W. Morrisson, is described and illustrated in an artistic little pamphlet recently issued by the library committee. The window illustrates the discovery of printing by Gutenberg. The central
window shows Gutenberg in the act of drawing a printed sheet from the press, and showing to his companions, Fust and Schoeller, the practicability of his invention. The smaller windows above depict representative facts in the history of literature and printing; these include the names, dates, and arms of Molière, Lope de Vega, Dante, and Goethe; the book-marks of Caxton, Manutius, Vostre, and Plantin; and the names, dates, and arms of Chaucer, Bacon, Shakespeare, and Milton.
Rochester, N. Y. Reynolds Library. On October I the library was opened in its new home without formal ceremonies. There was a large and interested attendance of visitors.
St. Joseph (Mo.) P. L. (5th rpt.) Added 1551; total 12,859. Issued, home use 108,882 (fict. and juv. .818%); ref. use 915 (no record of general ref. use is kept).
"A large number of pictures accumulated in the library have been mounted on stiff paper and sent in portfolios to the schools for the use of the younger scholars. These pictures serve to illustrate history and geography lessons, educate the taste of the little ones and give them pleasure in beautiful things, and have been highly appreciated by both teachers and schol
"A list of 100 good novels published in December has been influential in improving the class of novels read."
San Francisco (Cal.) F. L. It has been decided to establish a children's department in a room on the second floor of the library building, heretofore used as a ladies' reading-room. It will be well provided with periodicals and accessible books, and will be used both as a delivery-room and a reading-room.
SHAW, W: B. The Carnegie libraries: notes on a popular educational movement in "the greater Pittsburgh." (In Review of reviews, Oct., p. 429-435.) il.
An interesting account of the Carnegie Free Library of Alleghany, the Carnegie Free Library of Braddock, and the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, illustrated with views of the interiors and exteriors of the buildings and portraits of the librarians.
Somerville (Mass.) P. L. The library was reopened on October 1, after having been closed for alterations since July. The book-stacks have been entirely rearranged and a second tier put in, several new windows have been made, and a large book-lift has been installed. The books have been reclassified according to the D. C., and a new catalog has been prepared and printed.
South Norwalk (Ct.) P. L. (5th rpt.) Added 313; total 3182. Issued 17,710. New cardholders 264; total membership 1091; visitors to library, 39.903.
Miss Scott urges the need of more shelf-room and of several standard reference-books.
South Orange (N. J.) P. L. The trustees have adopted plans prepared by Stephenson & Greene, of New York, for a new library building, to be erected on the lot given for the purpose by Eugene V. Connett, the village president. The building will have a frontage of 54 feet, with a depth of 30 feet. While simple in design, the general effect will be pleasing, the high peaked roof covered with red slate being broken by a half-dormer, relieving its plainness. The building is to be constructed of Indianastone up to the water-table, and above that point of gray pressed brick. The trimmings will also be of Indiana stone. The main entrance will be by a wide flight of stone steps leading up to a fine Norman arch. A wide hall runs through the centre of the building, at the rear of which is the librarian's fice, opening through wide arches into the library-room proper on the one side, and into the reading-room on the other. There is also to be a trustees' room and the usual offices. The library will have shelving accommodation for 25,000 v., and the alcoves and shelves will be of oak, cabinet finished. The same trim will be used throughout the entire building. Provision is to be made in the erection of the walls for the putting in of a mezzanine floor of iron whenever in the future this may be desirable, and in this way nearly doubling the shelving capacity. Ground is to be broken at once, and it is hoped to have the building ready for use early next year.
Southampton, L. I. Rogers Memorial L. The Rogers Memorial Library was formally opened on Sept. 28, in the presence of a large audience, who later inspected and admired the building.
The building was designed by R. H. Robertson, a New York architect, who for many years has been a summer resident of Southampton. It is built of hard burned North River brick, with a slated roof, and stands upon the site of the old Southampton academy in the centre of the village, presenting a fine frontage of more than 100 feet, with open spaces on all sides. The plan embraces at the west end a handsome hall, with a seating capacity for 250 people. It is also provided with a large well-lighted readingroom, a reference and librarian's room, and in the centre, lighted from above, is the fire-proof room, of a capacity for the safe keeping of 20,000 volumes. Above are apartments for the custodian. The library cost $20,000, and was built by Holland Emslie, of Cornwall Landing, New York. In addition to the Rogers bequest the sum of $5115 was raised by private subscription, which is to be kept as a permanent maintenance fund. The trustees expect also that the hall will yield a good return. The library begins with about 1000 volumes of standard and popular books, to be increased by the active cooperation of an experienced committee.
University of Illinois, Champaign. Plans for the new library building, for which the last legislature awarded $150,000, were selected on Sept. 22. The plans were submitted in competition, and four were selected as prize-winners. The first choice was given to the designs of E: G. Bolles, of Springfield, the three other archi
tects receiving prizes of from $300 to $100, respectively. The plans chosen call for an artistic two-story building, having east and west fronts exactly alike. The main entrances are through great archways and are reached by steps down to the basement and up to the main floor, all steps being within the loggia. On the first floor are the main reading-room, periodical-room, reference-rooms, parlors, librarian's room, delivery-desk, etc. The arrangement of this floor gives from the delivery-desk an unobstructed view of almost the entire floor-space. The reading-room, 60 by 90, takes the north portion of the floor and extends up through the second story. The administrative offices will be on the second floor. Entering the rotunda from the west, the president's suite of rooms lies to the left, trustees' rooms to the right, registrar's and business agent's rooms directly in front. At the north end of the rotunda is a gallery separated from and overlooking the main reading-room on the first floor. There are three book-rooms, each having shelving capacity for 54,432 volumes, or a total of 163,296. The walls of the book-rooms are to be hollow, with inner shell of buff-enamelled brick. The interior construction is to be of the steel skeleton order, with porous tile fireproofing, all heavy inner walls to be of brick. The exterior walls are to be of stone backed with brick, two colors of stone being used, one for the body, the other for trimming. Marble wainscotting and frescoing will be used throughout the structure. It is the intention to make made, and to equip it with every convenience the building as nearly fire-proof as it can be of the most modern and approved design.
Washington, D. C. Congressional L. Work is now in progress upon the underground book railway, which is to be put in operation between the capitol and the new Congressional Library building. A trench 1100 feet long has been made across the capitol park, and in it will be constructed a brick conduit six feet high and four feet wide, which will enter the basement of the library building and the basement of the capitol, connecting by shafts with the main floors of both buildings. A small cable will be run through this conduit, upon which will travel two book-carriers. Telephone wires will also be laid between the buildings, and it is thought that in this way it will be feasible to supply books directly to congressmen with ease and rapidity.
Washington Heights (N. Y. City) F. L. (27th rpt.) Added 626; total 10,063. Issued 22,552; visitors to reading-room 7652. Receipts $2512.19; expenses $1935.83.
The increase in the number of books purchased has necessitated an increase in our shelving room, and we have about reached the limit about 30 readers per day making use of our of our present quarters. We have an average of reading-room."
Whippany, N. J. The Mrs. J. F. Roberts Memorial Library was formally opened in Whiponong Hall, in this town, on Labor Day, It contains about 2000 v.
Leipzig, Germany. The name of C. F. Peters, the Leipzig firm of music publishers, whose Edition Peters" has long been the "hall mark" of the best in musical literature, is destined to be perpetuated in the Musikbibliothek Peters, dedicated January 2, 1894. The library, which has been open to the public over a year and a half, contains about 10,000 volumes, including the works of the leading composers. Among the curiosities of the library are the complete manuscript scores of a number of operas that have never been printed. The first annual report, edited by Emil Vogel, contains a bibliography of books on music and periodicals devoted to the subject issued in 1894; also, a list of the musical libraries of Europe. According to this list Germany has 103 libraries with more or less extensive collections of music, and 14 libraries devoted wholly to music; AustroHungary 39 general, 43 special; Switzerland, 9 general, I special; Italy, 60 general, 5 special; Spain, 7 general; France, 25 general, 5 special; Belgium and Holland, 12 general, 5 special; Great Britain and Ireland, 28 general, 4 special; Denmark and Sweden, 5 general, I special; and Russia, 3 general. In an appendix are printed to hitherto unknown letters by Franz Schubert, edited by Max Friedlaender. Jahrbuch der Musikbibliothek Peters für 1894. 1. Jahrg. hrsg. von Emil Vogel. Leipzig, C. F. Peters, 1895. 116 p. O. pap.)
Upsala (Sweden) Univ. L. A history of Upsala University, by Claes Annerstedt, the chief librarian, has been recently issued which gives an interesting account of the development of the library up to 1702. Although the university was founded in 1477, it cannot be said to have had a library before 1620, when Gustavus Adolphus gave to the university his private library, kept in the former monastery of the Gray Friars at Stockholm. Before that time the professors of the university had used the library belonging to the cathedral. During the times of the Thirty Years' War the library several times received from the king and from successful generals gifts of the libraries of several Catholic monasteries, among others those of Braunsberg and Würzburg. Another of its early benefactors was the favorite of Queen Christina, Count Magnus Gabriel Delagardie, who gave to it in 1669 65 manuscripts, among them the famous "Codex Argenteus," the oldest specimen of Teutonic literature. After his death the library received, in accordance with his will, his own private collection, which was the finest then in the possession of any Swedish private man. The first 82 years of the library's history, here told, were uneventful. Narrow quarters, insufficient means, carelessness and bad management on the part of the authorities are the main characteristics. But the library grew. At the end of the 17th century it contained 30,000 volumes, most of them foreign, and the greater part Latin, works. In 1675 there were only 80 Swedish works, but in 1692 the library received the copyright privilege, although the printers were at first not over-anx
ious to obey the law in this respect. The libraand held the office in addition to work in the rians were taken from among the professors, latter capacity. The work fell mostly on the amanuensis, who at the end of the period had the title of vice-librarian. In 1702 the post of librarian was assigned to Erik Benzelius, and under his régime the library entered on a new and more prosperous career. The present volis to be hoped, only the first instalment of a ume by the chief librarian of the library is, it complete history of the institution. A. G. S. J.Upsala Universitets historia intill ar 1702. Stockholm, P. A. Norstedt & Soner, 1894. 119 p. O.)
PASTING BOOK-PLATES. - Miss C. R. Barnett, of the U. S. Department of Agriculture Library, sends the following useful suggestion as to pasting book-plates: "Some of the readers of the LIBRARY JOURNAL may be glad to hear of a simple little device for pasting book-plates. Put a number of book-plates together so as to form a block about three centimetres in thickness. Make the sides perfectly even, and then paste a piece of paper on one side, thus making a block or pad of book-plates. When the back of the book-plate has been pasted it can easily be detached from the block. This solid block of book-plates is much more convenient than having a block of wood on which to rest the book plate while it is being pasted. There is no danger of the book-plate slipping off the block, nor of getting paste on the front of the book-plate."
ALLAN, Miss Jessie, librarian of the Omaha (Neb.) City Library, died on September 12, after a lingering illness. The cause of her death was consumpti which attacked her in the autumn of 1893, and in the opinion of her physician was contracted in the handling_of books infected with tuberculosis germs. For the past two years Miss Allan fought the disease bravely, trying different climates and methods of treatment, but without avail. Miss Allan was connected with the Omaha Library for 14 years and had been librarian for 10 years. She was born in Omaha, December 15, 1861, her family being among the pioneer settlers. In 1881, on leaving the high school, she entered the library as an assistant, in 1883 she was made acting librarian, and in the following year, when her sister, who was then librarian, resigned the position, she was elected librarian. In November, 1893, she was granted leave of absence on account of ill-health, and during her frequent long and sad vacations since that time her personal work at the library was necessarily slight. A week or so before her death she resigned her position on account of the condition of her health, and in accepting the resignation the following resolutions were passed by the board of directors
"The directors of the Omaha Public Library, for them. selves and the reading public of Omaha, desire to express
the Liverpool (Eng.) Free Library, under whom he has served now for the long period of 43 years, have decided to recommend that a superrannuation allowance be made to Thomas Barger, keeper at the Free Library, William Brown street, Liverpool. Mr. Barger joined the Free Library staff on the day the library was opened in Duke street, October 18, 1852. He has served Miss Allan was an active member of the under three chairmen and under three librarians American Library Association, and had attended -the late John Stuart Dalton, the late George the conferences from 1888 to 1893, with the Hudson, and the present librarian, Peter Cowexception of the 1889 (Catskill) conference. ell. During the cotton famine at the time of She was vice-president of the Nebraska Library the American Civil War, some 30 to 35 years Association, and was always an interested and ago, Mr. Barger's services were specially in reeffective worker in library matters. She was quest, the attendance at William Brown street well known and loved in Omaha and had many increasing so enormously that the corridors and warm friends in the A. L. A. and in her pro-ante-rooms at the library had to be fitted up, fession generally. lighted, and requisitioned for readers; an attendance of 750 at one time and a daily issue of 3000 volumes was no uncommon record. After a long and meritorious service, laden with years, at the age of nearly 78, Mr. Barger retires with the respect and earnest good wishes of all his colleagues.
to Miss Jessie Allan their sincere appreciation of her long, faithful, and efficient service as librarian. The best growth of the library has been coincident with Miss Allan's management and in large measure due to her personal effort. She brought to the work of librarian a natural aptitude, but over and above that she showed a peculiar alertness to the needs of the reading public and a zeal in meeting them that more than anything else established the present popularity of the library.""
The Omaha World-Herald says: "She was a little woman, alert and keen, a mere bundle of nerves and intelligence, and with a sort of genius for the work which she assumed. There are born librarians as well as born poets, and Miss Allan was emphatically the former. A knowledge of books came to her as easily as a knowledge of music comes to some persons. Moreover, her knowledge was not sporadic, nor her interest impulsive. She loved books well enough to be willing to labor long and hard, in order that they might be made useful to others. She was in touch with each improvement in the conduct of libraries, and the Omaha Library has been recataloged in the most improved manner, with various devices for assisting borrowers to the volume they desire. Much of this cataloging was done by Miss Allan when she was not in a condition to do any work whatever, but she had a strong spirit and an unfaltering ambition that sustained her when others would have yielded to their pains and lassitude. Under Miss Allen's management there was always the most obliging service at the library. No reference was so remote that Miss Allan or her assistants, acting upon her instruction would not endeavor to find it. No request was so preposterous that it would not be given respectful consideration. One who has had experience in the libraries of other cities must be keenly aware of the fact that in the Omaha Library was to be found unusual courtesy and obligingness. In short, Miss Allan, in the days of her health and vigor, was possessed of a strong public spirit, and she was determined to make the library as useful as possible to this community. She was well aware of the fact that it was a community which needed many books and good books, and exerted herself to make those books available to all, and to encourage those who needed them to borrow from the public shelves. A memory of the sallow, vivacious, friendly little face of the librarian, of her trig little figure in its dark dress, of her large brow, and intense mentality, her hearty handshake, her reliable knowledge, will linger long with those who knew her. She was a 'gallant lady' and served this city well."
BARGER, Thomas. Owing to failing health and increasing years, the library committee of
BARROWS, Benjamin H., was on September 9 elected librarian of the Omaha (Neb.) City Library, succeeding the late Miss Jessie Allan. Mr. Barrows was born in Davenport, Ia., in 1848, and came to Omaha in 1870, where for 12 years he was city editor of the Republican. He was for some years U. S. Consul at Dublin, and has always been strongly identified with journalistic matters. He was one of the original directors of the Omaha City Library in 1872, and has shown constant interest in its development.
HECKMAN, Frank B., of Philadelphia, was on September 26 appointed librarian of Branch No. 6 of the Philadelphia Public libraries newly opened in Germantown.
MCCRORY, Miss Harriette, of the Pratt Institute library training class of 1895, has been appointed librarian of the Millersville (Pa.) Normal School.
MORSE, Miss Anna, librarian of the Millbury (Mass.) Free Public Library, resigned her position work. She is now enrolled in the junior class on September 19, to take up the study of library of the N. Y. State Library School.
NELSON, Miss Sarah C., a graduate of the Pratt Institute library training class of 1892, has been appointed assistant librarian of the new Blackstone Memorial Library of Branford, Ct. Miss Nelson after her graduation was cataloger at the Wilmington (Del.) Institute Free Library when it was reorganized by Mr. A. W. Tyler, recently 'appointed librarian of the Blackstone Memorial Library. Later she cataloged the Stoneham (Mass.) Public Library.
SAUNDERS, John M., for 52 years librarian of the Woodbury (N. J.) Library Co., died at his home in Woodbury on 'September 6, aged 83 years. Mr. Saunders was a member of the Society of Friends, and one of the pioneers of the town, in which he had filled many positions of public trust.
SMITH, Charles W., was on September 4 elected librarian of the Seattle (Wash.) City Library, succeeding John D. Atkinson, resigned. Mr. Smith has been for the past few years in a Seattle law office. He was a student of Wesleyan University, Middletown, Ct., and has been librarian of the Cayuga County (N. Y.) Historical Society, and of the Ives Seminary, Antwerp, N. Y.
UPHAM, Warren, secretary and librarian of the Western Reserve Historical Society of Cleveland, O., was on September 10 appointed secretary and librarian of the Minnesota State Historical Society, succeeding ex- Governor Marshall, resigned.
VAN HOEVENBERG, Miss Alma Rogers, on August 1, became assistant librarian of the Washington Heights (N. Y. City) Free Library, succeeding Miss J. P. Price, who had been in the library 22 years.
Cataloging and Classification.
AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION. Publishing Section. List of books for girls and women and their clubs; edited by Augusta H. Leypoldt and George Iles. Part 4: Education and science. Bost., Library Bureau, 1895. 98 p. Tt. pap., 10 c.
consists of a chairman (Gardner M. Jones),
FOSTER'S MONTHLY REFERENCE LISTS for September (Providence P. L. Bulletin) cover "Yachts and yachting" and "The White Mountains."
The Book-Leaf, published by the Carson Harper Co., of Denver, which now contains the "Denver Public Library lists," has in its September number a 4-p. list of "Books on education in the Public School Library, September) ber, 1895."
GERMANIA MÄNNERCHOR, Chicago. Catalog der Deutsch-amerikanischen bibliothek des Germania Männerchor, 1894. Chicago, 1895. 39 p. il. S.
A neatly printed little catalog, listing, by author only, some 500 books.
Catalogue; revised edition. 18 p. IO C.
A primitive little catalog, listing, by title only, 541 books- a mixed assortment of novels, sprinkled with a few poems, histories, biographies, etc.
The MASSACHUSETTS LIBRARY CLUB has issued the first of the monthly annotated lists of select fiction (for September, 1895), which planned at the meeting held in Boston, March 1, 1895. The permanent committee of selection
The OTIS LIBRARY (Norwich, Mass.) BULLETIN contains in its September issue a "List of American historical novels in the library."
contains special reading lists on "Woman The SALEM (Mass.) P. L. BULLETIN (Septemand "Reading and the choice of books."
SANBORN, Miss Kate E., has just completed and Mr. C: A. Cutter is now printing an alphabetic order table for the consonants except S carried to the third figure (e.g., Ba 111, Bab 112, Babe 113), and therefore nine times as long as the consonant part of the original Cutter's Tables. It has long been evident that a table of this sort is needed for large collections kept in a single alphabet, like Biography and Fiction. Miss Sanborn had already prepared a threefigure table for the vowels and S, which can be procured of Miss Weeks at the Boston AtheE. LEMCKE (B. Westermann & Co., New næum, or of the Library Bureau. The new York) has issued the second part of his "Cata-work will soon be for sale at the same places. logue raisonné of world literature." This covers "French literature: the classics and belles lettres" in the same admirable fashion that Part 1. covered German literature. These catalogs, though, of course, publishers' sales lists, are admirable in selection, arrangement, and annotation, and have proved helpful guides to many librarians.
The SPRINGFIELD (Mass.) L. BULLETIN for Aug. - Sept. has a short list of 'Readings for English history."
U. S. DEPT. OF Agriculture. Library bulletin, August, 1895. Accessions to the department library April-June, 1895. 12 p. Q.
Supplied by Harvard College Library. Halbert, H: Sale, and Ball, Timothy Horton (The Creek war of 1813 and 1814);