Слике страница

Mr. A. B. Steele, Herkimer.

Mr. Peabody, Columbia.

Mr. Phipps, Queens.

Mr. Powell, Kings.
Mr. Arnold, Dutchess.
Mr. Manley, Queens.

Mr. Kellogg, Otsego.

Mr. Deterling, Kings.

Clerk, J. H. Rathbone. Room, Assembly 6.

On Industrial Interests:

Mr. Gilbert, Chairman, Franklin. Mr. C. H. Truax, New York.

[blocks in formation]

Clerk, C. H. Bassett. Room, Court of Appeals Room.

On Salt Springs :

Mr. Alvord, Chairman, Onondaga. Mr. Williams, New York.

Mr. Springweiler, Erie.

Mr. Vogt, Kings.

Mr. Allaben, Kings.

Mr. Mulqueen, New York.

Mr. Farrell, Kings.

Clerk, George B. Munn. Room, Senate Room 5.

On the Relations of the State to the Indians :

Mr. C. H. Lewis, Chairman, Onon

[blocks in formation]

Mr. Platzek, New York.

Mr. J. I. Green, New York.

Clerk, J. W. Titus. Room, Senate 1.

On Future Amendments and Revision of the Constitution :

Mr. Marshall, Chairman, Onon


Mr. Powell, Kings.

Mr. Spencer, Fulton.

Mr. Andrew Frank, Kings.

Mr. Griswold, Greene.

Mr. Parmenter, Rensselaer.
Mr. Meyenborg, Kings.

Clerk, E. A. Fay. Room, Senate 6.

On Revision and Engrossment:
Mr. Foote, Chairman, Monroe.
Mr. Hawley, Seneca.

Mr. W. H. Steele, Oswego.

Mr. Durfee, Wayne.

Mr. O'Brien, Cayuga.

Mr. Holcomb, New York.
Mr. Farrell, Kings.
Mr. Bowers, New York.
Mr Deyo, New York.

Mr. Woodward, Genesee.

Mr. Kurth, Kings.

Clerk, J. J. Brown. Room, Senate Room 2.

On Privileges and Elections:

Mr. Hirschberg, Chairman,


Mr. Cookinham, Oneida.

Mr. Lester, Saratoga.

Mr. Crosby, Delaware.

Mr. Foote, Monroe.

Mr. Lincoln, Cattaraugus.

Mr. Durfee, Wayne.

Mr. Deady, New York.
Mr. Countryman, Albany.
Mr. Chipp, Ulster.

Mr. Gibney, Westchester.

[blocks in formation]

Clerk, Ray B. Smith. Room, Senate Room 4.

[blocks in formation]

Clerk, E. A. Fay. Room, President's Room.

Select Committee on Civil Service :

Mr. Hill, Erie

Mr. Gilbert, Chairman, Franklin.
Mr. Francis, Rensselaer.
Mr. Hedges, Rockland.
Mr. Foote, Monroe.

Mr. R. M. Johnston, Kings.

Mr. Lincoln, Cattaraugus.

Mr. Osborn, Putnam.

Mr. McCurdy, New York.
Mr. Countryman, Albany.
Mr. Bigelow, New York.
Mr. Putnam, Erie.

Clerk, George B. Munn. Room, Court of Appeals Room.

Special Committee on Proposed Amendments :

Mr. E. R. Brown, Chairman, Jef- Mr. Bowers, New York.


Mr. McKinstry, Chautauqua.

Mr. Church, Allegheny.

Mr. Kinkel, Kings.

Clerk, C. A. De Gersdorf.

Special Committee on Forest Preservation :

Mr. McClure, Chairman, New Mr. Peabody, Columbia.


Mr. McIntyre, St. Lawrence.

Mr. C. B. McLaughlin, Essex.

Mr. Mereness, Lewis.

Clerk, George B. Munn. Room, Ways and Means Room.

Special Committee on Land Titles:

Mr. A. H. Green, Chairman, New


Mr. Arnold, Dutchess.

Mr. Tibbetts, Tompkins.
Mr. Wellington, Madison.
Mr. Deyo, New York.



Powers and Duties of the President and Vice-Presidents.

Rule 1. The President shall take the chair each day at the hour to which the Convention shall have adjourned. He shall call to order, and, except in the absence of a quorum, shall proceed to business in the manner prescribed by these rules.

Rule 2. He shall possess the powers and perform the duties herein prescribed, viz.:

1. He shall preserve order and decorum, and, in debate, shall prevent personal reflections, and confine members to the ques tion under discussion. When two or more members rise at the same time, he shall name the one entitled to the floor.

2. He shall decide all questions of order, subject to appeal to the Convention. On every appeal he shall have the right, in his place, to assign his reason for his decision. In case of such appeal no member shall speak more than once.

3. He shall appoint all committees, except where the Conven tion shall otherwise order.

4. He may substitute any member to perform the duties of the chair during the absence or inability of both vice-presidents, but for no longer period than two consecutive legislative days, except by special consent of the Convention.

5. When the Convention shall be ready to go into Committee of the Whole, he shall name a chairman to preside therein, subject to right of committee to elect its own chairman.

6. He shall certify the passage of all amendments by the Convention, with the date thereof.

7. He shall designate the persons who shall act as reporters for the public press, not exceeding thirty in number; but no reporter shall be admitted to the floor who is not an authorized

representative of a daily paper. Such reporters, so appointed, shall be entitled to such seats as the President shall designate, and shall have the right to pass to and fro from such seats in entering or leaving the Assembly Chamber. No reporter shall appear before any of the committees in advocacy of, or in opposition to, anything under consideration before such committees. A violation of this rule will be sufficient cause for the removal of such reporter. Removal for this cause shall be vested in the President.

8. He shall not be required to vote in ordinary proceedings, except where his vote would be decisive. In case of a tie vote the question shall be lost. He shall have general control, except as provided by rule or law, of the Assembly Chamber and of the corridors and passages in that part of the Capitol assigned to the use of the Convention. In case of any disturbance or disorderly conduct in the galleries, corridors or passages, he shall have the power to order the same to be cleared, and may cause any person guilty of such disturbance or disorderly conduct to be brought before the bar of the Convention. In all such cases the members present may take such measures as they shall deem necessary to prevent a repetition of such misconduct, either by the infliction of censure or pecuniary penalty, as they may deem best, on the parties thus offending.

9. He shall also be ex officio member and chairman of the Committee on Rules.

10. In the absence of the President, or his inability to preside, his duties shall devolve upon the first vice-president, or, if he also be absent, upon the second vice-president.


Order of Business.

Rule 3. The first business of each day's session shall be the reading of the Journal of the preceding day, and the correction of any errors that may be found to exist therein. Immediately thereafter, except on days and at times set apart for the consideration of special orders, the order of business shall be as follows:

1. Presentation of memorials. Under which head shall be included petitions, remonstrances and communications from individuals, and from public bodies.

« ПретходнаНастави »