Слике страница
[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][subsumed][subsumed]




Colonial Governors.
Adrian Joris, 1623.
Cornelius Jacobzen Mey, 1624.
William Verhulst, 1625.
Peter Minuit, May 4, 1626.
Wouter Van Twiller, April, 1633.
William Kieft, March 28, 1638.
Petrus Stuyvesant, May 11, 1647.
Richard Nicolls, September 8, 1664.
Francis Lovelace, August 17, 1668.
Cornelis Evertse, Jr., and a council

The Constitution of the State vests, comes a law notwithstanding the obthe executive power in the Governor. jections of the Governor. After the He is elected by the people, and no final adjournment of the Legislature, person is eligible to the office except a no bill becomes a law unless approved citizen of the United States, of the age by the Governor within thirty days, of not less than thirty years, who shall and he has power to disapprove items have been five years, next preceding in any bill appropriating money. The his election, a resident of the State. Governor holds his office for the term The Governor is Commander-in-Chief of two years and receives an annual of the military and naval forces of the salary of $10,000, and the use of a State, a trustee of certain of its pub- furnished executive residence. He is lic buildings, a Regent of the Univer- authorized to appoint a private secresity, a trustee of the Soldier's Home, tary, clerks and messengers, and to a Union College. Cornell University, limited degree the Executive Chamber Syracuse University, and of the State is an office of record. The privy seal Institution for Feeble-Minded Chil- is the Arms of the State surrounded dren. He is required to communicate, by the inscription, "State of New by message, to the Legislature at York - Executive Privy Seal." every session, the condition of the State, and recommend such matters to them as he shall judge expedient. He is also required to transact all necessary business with the officers of government, civil and military, and expedite all such measures as may be resolved upon by the Legislature, and take care that the laws are faithfully executed. The Governor may vene the Legislature or Senate only, in extraordinary sessions, and may of war, August (N. S.) 12, 1673. grant reprieves, commutations and pardons after conviction, for all offenses except treason and cases of impeachment. He appoints (by and with the advice and consent of the Senate), certain officers connected with the government of the State not elective by the people, and fills vacancies occurring therein during the recess of the Senate. He also may suspend or remove many officers under certain restrictions prescribed by statute. During the session of the Legislature he has the power to veto any bill passed by the Senate and Assembly. In the event of two-thirds of the members elected to each house agreeing to pass a vetoed bill the same be


Anthony Colve, September 19, 1673. Edmond Andros, November (N. S.) 10, 1674.

Anthony Brockholles, Commanderin-Chief, November 16, 1677.

Sir Edmond Andros, Knt., August 7, 1678.

in-Chief, January (N. S.) 13, 1681. Anthony Brockholles, CommanderThomas Dongan, August 27, 1683. Sir Edmond Andros, August 11, 1688.

Francis Nicholson, Lieutenant-Governor, October 9, 1688.

Jacob Leisler, June 3, 1689.
Henry Sloughter, March 19, 1691.
Richard Ingoldesby, Commander-in-
Chief, July 26, 1691.

Benjamin Fletcher, August 30, 1692.
Earl of Bellomont, April 13, 1698.
John Nanfan, Lieutenant-Governor,
May 17, 1699.

Earl of Bellomont, July 24, 1700.
Col. William Smith, Col. Abraham
De Peyster, Col. Peter Schuyler,*
March 5, 1701, to May 19, 1701.
John Nanfan, Lieutenant-Governor,
May 19, 1701.

Lord Cornbury, May 3, 1702.
Lord Lovelace, December 18, 1708.
Peter Schuyler, President, May 6,

Richard Ingoldesby, Lieutenant-Governor, May 9, 1709.

Peter Schuyler, President, May 25, 1709.

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

The Provincial Congress, Etc. Nathaniel Woodhull, President pro tem., August 28, 1775.

Abraham Yates, Jr., President pro tem., November 2, 1775.

Nathaniel Woodhull, December 6,

William Cosby, August 1, 1732. George Clarke, President, March 10, 1775. 1736.

George Clarke, Lieutenant-Governor, October 30, 1736.

George Clinton, September 2, 1743. Sir Danvers Osborne, Bart., October 10, 1753.

James De Lancey, Lieutenant-Governor, October 12, 1755.

Sir Charles Hardy, Knt., September 3, 1755.

James De Lancey, Lieutenant-Governor, June 3, 1757.

Cadwallader Colden, President, August 4, 1760.

John Harding, President pro tem., December 16, 1775.

Abraham Yates, Jr., President pro tem., August 10, 1776.

Abraham Yates, Jr., August 28,


Peter R. Livingston, September 26,


Abraham Ten Broeck, March 6,


Leonard Gansevoort, President pro tem., April 18, 1777.

Pierre Van Cortlandt, President Council Safety, May 14, 1777.

[blocks in formation]

*The Earl of Bellomont died March 5, 1701. During the absence of Lieutenant-Governor Nanfan, and until May 19, 1701, the Government was administered by the Council, at which the oldest Councillor presided during this period

+ Military Governors during the Revolutionary war not recognized by the State of New York. The Constitution of 1777 did not specify the time when the Governor should enter on the duties of his office. Governor Clinton was declared elected July 9th, and qualified on the above day. On the 13th of February, 1787, an act was passed for regulating elections, which provided that the Governor and Lieutenant-Governor should enter on the duties of their respective offices on the 1st of July after their election.

« ПретходнаНастави »